Portrait

Portrait

 

 

Talk to me about love…

 

I tell you love is more than broken promises and red roses covering your bed… I tell you love is greater than dignity… And surely nowhere near selfish…

I tell you… “no pride”… two souls in one

I tell you… it is to find pleasure in pain… happiness in sorrow

 

Talk to me about love… I tell you it’s holding your hand… walking by your side… and not letting you go when you’re afraid of saying that you need me… I tell you it’s when we put arguments aside… give you a shoulder to cry on… and a best friend to lean on… I tell you it is loyalty… It’s not allowing any stains to destroy that pure feeling…

I tell you it is losing yourself completely… in my arms

I tell you it is to find home in your eyes

I tell you it is to wake up in the morning… just to see your beautiful smile I tell you it is the trust… to break down your walls and to know you will be locked in my heart

 

Talk to me about love…

I tell you it’s a memory framed in the pages of forever… I tell you it’s the never ending story… A book with no last chapter… I tell you… It is the strength… The power… The hope for a better tomorrow… It is what keeps us going…

 

Talk to me about love…

                            I tell you… it is you

 

 

Talk to me about family…

 

I tell you it’s more than blood and formal bonds I tell you it’s not occasional visits… or just a last name to hold

I tell you it’s more than a teardrop when facing a bad situation or saying goodbye… I tell you it’s the non-stop support through whatever… It is the unconditional love no matter who you grow up to be…

I tell you it’s the laughter and crying shared under any sky in whatever time… I tell you it’s what makes you rise when falling… what makes you reach your peak when at your lowest…

 

Talk to me about family…

    I tell you it’s having faith and believing in you when the rest of the world has turned its back on you…

 

Talk to me about freedom…

 

I tell you it’s to sing with no fear of being judged… I tell you it’s to write… With no one trying to stop you from telling the truth… I tell you it’s to be able to breathe… and to live for a better tomorrow… I tell you it’s to move from one city to another… without worrying about holding your ID and passport in your own country…

Talk to me about freedom…

I tell you it’s that beautiful feeling… of running… laughing… dancing… smiling… without worrying whether it’s right or wrong… I tell you it’s to have a choice… to have a voice… to have your own imagination… and to have peace…

Talk to me about Freedom…

I tell you it’s simply to be you… with no one else trying to take that away…

 

Talk to me about happiness…

 

I tell you it is to feel sorrow…

I tell you it’s you knowing that it is okay not to be okay… I tell you it’s how you define it … It’s when you’re satisfied when you have absolutely nothing…
Talk to me about Happiness…

I tell you it’s to have them three… Love, Family and Freedom…

 

Talk to me about my Life…

And I tell you this is my Life… or at least… This is how I paint it to be…

 

 

Published in BROAD Feminist and Social Justice Magazine / Chicago – Dec 2013, Pages 29-30

 

 

By ABEER ALLAN

http://issuu.com/broadmagazine/docs/issu_broad_love_issue

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

